• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
January 8, 2024

Stark Med. Supply Inc. v Foremost Prop. & Cas. Ins. (2024 NY Slip Op 50002(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/stark-med-supply-inc-v-foremost-prop-cas-ins-2024-ny-slip-op-50002u-2/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Judge
Epstein, J.
Decided
January 8, 2024
Citation
2024 NY Slip Op 50002(U)
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Issues
Policy issues Trial and evidence
Cite as
Stark Med. Supply Inc. v Foremost Prop. & Cas. Ins., 2024 NY Slip Op 50002(U) (Civ Ct, Kings County 2024)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer failed to prove policy exhaustion when the provider's claims were complete because its payment log contained disputed dates. The Civil Court, Kings County, entered judgment for the provider after a trial limited to exhaustion. The insurer's claims specialist acknowledged an incorrect service date in the log and characterized it as a typo. Following Ortho Passive Motion, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co., the court required proof of exhaustion when the claims were deemed complete. It found that the date errors affected the provider's substantial rights and that nothing beyond the witness's testimony established the asserted correction or showed that the payment preceded the bill at issue.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Stark Med. Supply Inc. v Foremost Prop. & Cas. Ins. (2024 NY Slip Op 50002(U))

[*1]
Stark Med. Supply Inc. v Foremost Prop. & Cas. Ins.
2024 NY Slip Op 50002(U)
Decided on January 8, 2024
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County
Epstein, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law ยง 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on January 8, 2024
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County


Stark Medical Supply Inc. AAO a/a/o Emmanuel Dorvil, Plaintiff,

against

Foremost Property & Casualty Insurance, Defendant.




Index No. CV-732769-18



Plaintiff: Mikhail Kopelevich
Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C.
241 37th Street, Suite B439
Brooklyn, New York 11232

Defendant: Kenneth Popper
Law Offices of Buratti Rothenberg & Burns
90 Merrick Avenue Suite 300
East Meadow, New York 11554 Jill R. Epstein, J.

Plaintiff, medical provider, Stark Medical Supply Inc. (hereinafter “Plaintiff”), as assignee of Emmanuel Dorvil (hereinafter “Assignor”), commenced this action to recover assigned first-party no fault benefits from Foremost Property and Casualty Insurance (hereinafter “Defendant”), for a medical service performed to the assignor following a motor vehicle accident, which occurred May 29, 2017.

A Summary Judgement order signed by this Court on December 2, 2020 found that the subject bills were received and timely and properly denied. The Order limits the trial to the sole issue of whether the policy was exhausted at the time of the claim.

At trial, held November 29, 2023, defendant called its witness, Megan Scorben, a claims specialist who is employed by for defendant. Ms. Scorben testified that she reviewed the claim log, there was a previous medical payment on this accident, and that at full value there was $1,000 on the policy plus an additional $500 if the motorcycle rider was wearing a helmet. Upon voir dire, plaintiff questioned whether Ms. Scorben personally added in data herself and she replied that she did not. Ms. Scorben also testified that she was not working for the defendant when the payment logs that she was relying upon were created, however she did state that she reviewed and maintained the records in the regular course of her employment responsibilities.

During cross-examination of Ms. Scorben, plaintiff questioned the dates that were input into the log that Ms. Scorben relied upon in her determination that the policy was exhausted. She stated that there was in fact a “typo” and the date should read June, 15, 2017 and that the dates reads June 15, 2018. Plaintiff also questioned the witness’ reliance on information in the log that shows that payment was made prior to the incorrect/typo service dates of the bill and Ms. Scorben replied affirmatively.

For a policy exhaustion defense to bar plaintiff from recovery in a no-fault matter, the defendant must ” demonstrate that the policy had been exhausted at the time the claims at issue were deemed complete.” Ortho Passive Motion, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co., NY Slip Op 50771 [Application Term 2d 2017]. The Second Department further clarifies that “defendant has not argued, let alone demonstrated, that there was a technical defect or ministerial mistake in the judgment “not affecting a substantial right of a party.” Id.

The Court finds that in the matter sub judice, defendant has failed to prove policy exhausted. Firstly, despite the contentions of the defendant and its witness, the incorrect dates in the log is not merely “ministerial mistakes” as the errors “do substantially affect the rights of plaintiff.” Id.

Secondly, the log entries do not prove that the policy was exhausted when the “claims at issue were deemed complete.” Id. Defendant has failed to provide this court with any evidence, documentary or testimony to successfully establish that the policy was exhausted when the claims were completed. There is nothing beyond the testimony of the witness to show that the date in the log was in error, thus there is nothing to show that the payment preceded the bill herein.

WHEREFORE it is hereby

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that judgement be entered in favor of plaintiffs in the sum of $1, 281.32 plus filing fees, and interest from July 24, 2018.

Dated: January 8, 2024
Brooklyn, New York
HON. JILL R. EPSTEIN, JCC

Similar decisions

  • Ortho Passive Motion, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51749(U))The insurer failed to establish policy exhaustion when the claims became complete and obtained no modification of the provider's judgment.
  • Ortho Passive Motion Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 27057)The insurer's postjudgment motion based on policy exhaustion was denied because it failed to prove that pleaded defense at trial.
  • Pain Med., PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50069(U))The insurer failed to establish policy exhaustion because its claims specialist laid an insufficient foundation for the payment log.
  • All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27458)The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests or lack of medical necessity for the prescribed equipment.
  • Avamed Supply Inc v GEICO (2024 NY Slip Op 50688(U))The insurer's EUO defense failed because its second scheduling letter was mailed 15 days after the provider's first nonappearance.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.