June 17, 2013
New York Med. Rehab., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23218)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/new-york-med-rehab-p-c-v-travelers-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op-23218/
- Decided
- June 17, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 23218 · 40 Misc 3d 76
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later history
- Overruled by New Millennium Med. Imaging, P.C. v GEICO (2022 NY Slip Op 22300)
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- No-fault statute of limitations · Service and jurisdiction over the insurer (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at New York Med. Rehab., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23218)
| New York Med. Rehab., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 23218 [40 Misc 3d 76] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| AT2 |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, October 2, 2013 |
[*1]
| New York Medical Rehab., P.C., as Assignee of Kadesha Burgan-Jackson, Appellant, v Travelers Insurance Company, Respondent. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts, June 17, 2013
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Joseph Sparacio, P.C., Staten Island (Joseph Sparacio of counsel), for appellant. Law Offices of Karen C. Dodson, New York City (Tricia D. Prettypaul of counsel), for respondent.
{**40 Misc 3d at 78} OPINION OF THE COURT
Memorandum.
Ordered that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff mailed to defendant insurer, pursuant to CPLR 312-a, a copy of the summons and verified complaint, dated February 13, 2004. The record contains no signed acknowledgment of receipt, as is required by CPLR 312-a. On March 24, 2004, defendant served a verified answer, in which it asserted the affirmative defense of lack of personal jurisdiction as service of process had not been “perfected.”
There was no further activity in the case until February 13, 2009, when plaintiff purchased an index number and, for the first time, filed with the Civil Court the 2004 summons and complaint, along with defendant’s 2004 answer. There is no proof of service upon defendant of the summons and complaint following the 2009 Civil Court filing (see CCA 411). On [*2]November 30, 2009, plaintiff mailed a notice of trial and certificate of readiness to defense counsel, and filed it with the Civil Court on December 1, 2009.
By notice of motion dated April 23, 2010, defendant moved for, among other things, leave to amend its answer to interpose the affirmative defense that the action had not been commenced within the time prescribed by law and that it was therefore barred by the statute of limitations, and, upon such amendment, for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered July 29, 2010 as implicitly granted the branch of defendant’s motion seeking leave to amend the answer and, upon such amendment, dismissed the complaint. The court held that plaintiff’s action had not been properly commenced within the period of the statute of limitations because defendant had not executed an acknowledgment of receipt, and, therefore, service had not been properly effectuated in accordance with the provisions of CPLR 312-a.
On appeal, plaintiff contends that the action was properly commenced “upon service of the summons and complaint.” Although {**40 Misc 3d at 79}plaintiff admits that defendant did not return the acknowledgment of receipt required by CPLR 312-a, plaintiff claims that by serving its answer on March 24, 2004, defendant made an appearance in the action, which is “equivalent to personal service of the summons” (CPLR 320 [b]), and then waived its defense of improper service by failing to move to dismiss the complaint on this ground within 60 days of service of its answer, as required by CPLR 3211 (e). Plaintiff further argues that any “mistake, omission, defect or irregularity . . . in the filing process” may be disregarded (CPLR 2001).
CPLR 312-a, as an alternative to the other methods of personal service authorized by CPLR 307, 308, 310, 311 or 312, permits personal service to be made by first class mail, by mailing a copy of the summons and complaint, together with two copies of a statement of service by mail and acknowledgment of receipt, with a return envelope, postage prepaid, addressed to the plaintiff (CPLR 312-a [a]). The defendant must complete the acknowledgment of receipt and mail or deliver it within 30 days from the date of receipt. Under CPLR 312-a, service is complete on the date the signed acknowledgment of receipt is mailed or delivered to the plaintiff (but cf. CCA former 410 [b]). The signed acknowledgment of receipt constitutes proof of service (CPLR 312-a [b] [1]; 306 [d]).
In 2004, when plaintiff sought to serve defendant pursuant to CPLR 312-a, the “commencement-by-service” system was still in effect in the Civil Court, i.e., an action in the Civil Court was commenced by service of the summons (CCA former 400). Service of the summons was complete upon filing proof of service (CCA former 410 [b]), or, in the case of service pursuant to CPLR 312-a, by filing the acknowledgment of receipt, which constitutes proof of service (CPLR 312-a [b] [1]; 306 [d]). The filing of the acknowledgment of receipt has the effect of establishing the completion of service for purposes of initiating the time in which a defendant must respond (see Deepdale Gen. Hosp. v American Colonial Ins. Co., 144 Misc 2d 917 [App Term, 2d Dept, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 1989]), but here there was no acknowledgment of receipt, thus, none was filed and, technically, no action had been commenced by virtue of plaintiff’s actions (see Nagy v Heuss House Drop In Shelter for the Homeless, 198 AD2d 115 [1993]). Consequently, defendant’s time to answer did not commence to run. As has been noted, plaintiff, until early 2009, attempted no other means of service (CPLR 312-a [e]) nor otherwise took any further measures. [*3]
{**40 Misc 3d at 80}Although no action had been commenced and, thus, defendant’s time to answer had not yet commenced, on March 24, 2004, defendant nevertheless served plaintiff with an answer, in which it asserted, as an affirmative defense, lack of personal jurisdiction. Thus, having preserved its jurisdictional defense, the answer could not be deemed the “equivalent to personal service of the summons upon” defendant (CPLR 320 [b]). The question remains, however, whether, under the circumstances presented, defendant was required, pursuant to CPLR 3211 (e), to move to dismiss the “action” on that ground within 60 days of serving its answer, or risk waiver of that defense. Defendant failed to make such a motion. However, as there was no viable pending action, defendant cannot be deemed to have waived its defense of lack of personal jurisdiction by failing to make a motion to dismiss this “action.” Therefore, since plaintiff had never served the summons and complaint, the action was never commenced in 2004.
In February 2009 (after the commencement-by-filing system had gone into effect in 2005 in the New York City Civil Court), plaintiff purchased an index number and filed the 2004 summons and complaint, as well as defendant’s 2004 answer, in the Civil Court. In December 2009, plaintiff served and filed its notice of trial and certificate of readiness. Since, under the current version of CCA 400 (1), “[a]n action is commenced . . . by filing a summons and complaint,” plaintiff clearly commenced its action in 2009. Plaintiff did not, however, serve upon defendant a copy of the summons and complaint, and, therefore, plaintiff did not acquire personal jurisdiction over defendant under the new system (see CCA 400 [2]). Since there was no service, there could be no filing of proof of service (CCA 410 [b]), which filing would mark the date when service was complete and from which defendant’s time to answer would commence to run. The fact that plaintiff filed defendant’s 2004 answer with the summons and complaint did not mean that it had acquired jurisdiction over defendant, and did not represent proof of service.
Thereafter, defendant successfully moved to amend its 2004 answer to add the affirmative defense that the action was barred by the statute of limitations and, upon such amendment, to dismiss on that ground. Even if we assume that defendant thereby waived its defense based on lack of personal jurisdiction (see e.g. CPLR 3211 [e]), there was merit to defendant’s statute of limitations defense.{**40 Misc 3d at 81}
The time within which an action must be commenced is computed “from the time the cause of action accrued to the time the claim is interposed” (CPLR 203 [a]). A defendant asserting a statute of limitations defense must establish that the plaintiff commenced the action after the expiration of the statute of limitations. A no-fault cause of action accrues when payment of no-fault benefits becomes “overdue” (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; see also Matter of Travelers Indem. Co. of Conn. v Glenwood Med., P.C., 48 AD3d 319, 320 [2008]; Mandarino v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 37 AD3d 775 [2007]; Acupuncture Works, P.C. v MVAIC, 27 Misc 3d 131[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50646[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]). For statute of limitations purposes, plaintiff’s claim accrued on January 14, 2003, the date that defendant issued and mailed its denial of claim form. Since the six-year statute of limitations applies to the claim involved herein (CPLR 213 [2]; see Mandarino v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 37 AD3d 775 [2007]), in order for plaintiff’s action to be timely, it had to have been commenced by January 14, 2009. As we view the action as having first been commenced on February 13, 2009, when plaintiff purchased the index number and filed with the Civil Court the [*4]2004 summons and complaint along with defendant’s answer, the action is, necessarily, time-barred.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
Weston, J.P., Pesce and Rios, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Which limitations period governs a first-party no-fault claim against an insurer, self-insurer or MVAIC: six or three years?
This decision: Claim against an insurer under a policy carries the six-year contract period (CPLR 213 [2]) (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the action against the insurer time-barred under the six-year period, because the claim accrued on the January 2003 denial and the action was first commenced only by the February 2009 filing.
Of the 56 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 21 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Was the insurer validly served with process, and does the court have personal jurisdiction over it?
This decision: Method, place, timing or proof of service on the insurer failed, so no jurisdiction was obtained (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held 2004 CPLR 312-a mail service was never completed without a signed acknowledgment, so no action was commenced and the preserving answer waived nothing; the action was commenced only by the 2009 filing, after the six-year limitations period expired.
Of the 129 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 34 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Matter of Travelers Indem. Co. of Conn. v Glenwood Med., P.C. (2008 NY Slip Op 01598)An insurer's reconsideration of a denied no-fault claim does not extend the claim's accrual date for statute-of-limitations purposes.
- Mandarino v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 01693) FollowedA provider's action to recover no-fault benefits under an insurance policy is governed by the six-year contractual limitations period.
- Acupuncture Works, P.C. v MVAIC (2010 NY Slip Op 50646(U))The provider's action against MVAIC was barred by the three-year limitation because later denials did not postpone the payment due date.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- New Millennium Med. Imaging, P.C. v GEICO (2022 NY Slip Op 22300) OverruledA no-fault claim accrues upon receipt of a denial received before the claim determination period expires.
- Richard A. Hellander, M.D., P.C. v Metlife Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 25164) FollowedThe insurer did not waive its jurisdictional defense by failing to move within 60 days when no action had been commenced.
- Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v American Ind. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50639(U)) FollowedThe provider's default judgment motion failed because it did not establish personal jurisdiction over the insurer.
Similar decisions
- Flatlands Acupuncture, P.C. v Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21133)A no-fault claim accrues for limitations purposes when payment becomes overdue.
- Richmond Pain Mgt., P.C. v Aetna/Travelers Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50900(U))The insurer failed to establish a limitations bar because service commenced the action within six years and late filing received nunc pro tunc effect.
- Dyckman Med. Diagnostic/Treatment, P.C. v Granite State Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51026(U))The insurer failed to prove its limitations defense because its conclusory denial of receipt did not rebut the affidavit of service.
- J.R. Dugo, D.C., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29261)The provider's request for nunc pro tunc relief warranted accepting its late filing of the summons and proof of service.
- ZZ Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 51205(U))A no-fault claim accrues 30 days after the insurer receives it, absent tolling or proof that the claimant received an earlier denial.