April 8, 2016
Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50594(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/beal-medea-prods-inc-v-geico-gen-ins-co-2016-ny-slip-op50594u/
- Decided
- April 8, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 50594(U)
- Posture
- Trial
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50594(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Geico General Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered June 10, 2013. The order denied plaintiff’s motion to vacate a prior order of the same court, made at a jury trial, granting defendant’s oral motion pursuant to CPLR 4401 for judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order entered June 10, 2013 is reversed, with $30 costs, plaintiff’s motion to vacate the prior order granting defendant’s oral motion pursuant to CPLR 4401 for judgment dismissing the complaint is granted, defendant’s oral motion is denied, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new trial.
At a jury trial of this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff sought repeatedly to have its purported assignment of benefits admitted into evidence. The Civil Court denied each application, and ultimately granted defendant’s oral CPLR 4401 application to dismiss the complaint, finding that plaintiff could not establish a prima facie case because it had been unsuccessful in having its assignment of benefits admitted into evidence. Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court entered June 10, 2013 which denied its subsequent motion to vacate the trial order dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff’s motion should have been granted. Defendant’s CPLR 4401 motion for judgment as a matter of law was made before the close of plaintiff’s case, and was therefore premature (see Kamanou v Bert, 94 AD3d 704 [2012]). Furthermore, the court’s reason for granting the application was erroneous, as a no-fault plaintiff is not required to submit an executed assignment of benefits in order to demonstrate its prima facie entitlement to recover on a no-fault claim (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Allstate Ins. Co., 21 AD3d 348 [2005], affd 9 NY3d 312 [2007]; Urban Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co., 39 Misc 3d 146[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50850[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]). Rather, for the assignment of benefits to become a subject of inquiry, a defendant must first demonstrate that it timely and properly raised an issue with respect to the assignment (see Hospital for Joint Diseases, 21 AD3d 348; Urban Radiology, P.C., 39 Misc 3d 146[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50850[U]).
Accordingly, the order entered June 10, 2013 is reversed, plaintiff’s motion to vacate the prior order granting defendant’s oral motion pursuant to CPLR 4401 for judgment dismissing the complaint is granted, defendant’s oral motion is denied, and the matter is remitted to the Civil [*2]Court for a new trial.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Aliotta, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: April 08, 2016
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
What must a no-fault claimant prove at trial to make out its prima facie case for overdue benefits?
This decision: Claimant's trial proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the CPLR 4401 dismissal at the jury trial erroneous because a no-fault plaintiff need not put an executed assignment of benefits in evidence to make out its prima facie case unless the insurer timely raised the assignment.
Of the 103 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 40 (this one included) are in the same category.
Could the insurer contest the validity of the provider’s assignment of benefits, or had it waived that defense?
This decision: Insurer barred from contesting the assignment because it did not timely object, verify, deny or plead on that ground
Held dismissal at trial for failure to admit the assignment was error, because an executed assignment is not part of the provider's prima facie case and becomes an issue only if the insurer first shows it timely and properly raised it.
Of the 96 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 48 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 06192) FollowedAn insurer waived assignment objections by failing to timely object to hospital forms or seek verification of the assignments.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
- Urban Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50850(U)) FollowedThe insurer waived its assignment defense by failing to timely object to incomplete claim forms or seek verification of a valid assignment.
Cited by
- Top Choice Pharm. Corp. v Merchants Mut. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50867(U))The insurer waived its assignment objection and failed to support its medical-necessity defense with a nonconclusory opinion.
Similar decisions
- New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51808(U))The provider failed to establish that the insurer's denials were untimely or legally insufficient, defeating its prima facie showing.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51590(U))The insurer's conclusory IME nonappearance proof and the provider's deficient prima facie showing defeated both motions on the third cause of action.
- Maiga Prods. Corp. v Unitrin Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50113(U))The provider failed to establish its prima facie case, and the insurer failed to prove two missed EUOs. The provider did not show that the insurer failed to deny within 30 days or issued a timely denial that was conclusory, vague or meritless under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
- A.B. Med., PLLC v GEICO (2013 NY Slip Op 50203(U))The provider failed to establish that the insurer's denials were untimely or without merit as a matter of law.
- Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51347(U))Denial forms offered to show that claims were denied, rather than to prove their contents, need not qualify as business records.