February 24, 2009
A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50331(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op50331u/
- Decided
- February 24, 2009
- Citation
- 2009 NY Slip Op 50331(U) · 22 Misc 3d 137(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50331(U))
| A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. |
| 2009 NY Slip Op 50331(U) [22 Misc 3d 137(A)] |
| Decided on February 24, 2009 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : RUDOLPH, P.J., TANENBAUM and LaCAVA, JJ
2008-354 N C.
against
New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, Third District (Edmund M. Dane, J.), entered December 12, 2007. The order denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment.
Order affirmed without costs.
In this action by providers to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiffs moved
for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion on the grounds
of lack of coverage, failure by plaintiffs’ assignors to appear for independent medical
examinations and lack of medical necessity. The court below denied plaintiffs’ motion for
summary judgment, finding that although plaintiffs established their prima facie entitlement to
summary judgment, defendant raised triable issues of fact. The instant appeal by plaintiffs
ensued.
A provider generally establishes its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by [*2]proof of the submission of a statutory claim form, setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). A review of the record indicates that the affidavit submitted by plaintiffs’ billing manager sufficed to establish that the annexed claim forms constituted evidence in admissible form (see CPLR 4518; Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 136[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50243[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2007]). Consequently, the record establishes plaintiffs’ prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
In opposition to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, defendant asserted, inter alia, that the alleged injuries do not arise out of an insured incident (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 201 [1997]). In support of said defense, defendant submitted the affidavit of its litigation examiner, the police report, the affidavit of its investigator, and transcripts of statements made by the assignors and the insured, which demonstrated that defendant possessed a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. at 199).
Accordingly, the denial of plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is affirmed, albeit on other grounds. In light of the foregoing, we reach no other issue.
Rudolph, P.J., Tanenbaum and LaCava, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: February 24, 2009
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried
Held the litigation examiner's and investigator's affidavits, police report and recorded statements showed a founded belief that the injuries did not arise out of an insured incident, so the providers' motion was denied.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the billing manager's affidavit made the claim forms admissible and established the providers' prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50243(U)) FollowedAn insurer's acknowledgment of claim receipt does not concede the admissibility of the claim forms or the facts they contain.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51859(U))The insurer's investigators established a founded belief that the assignor's injuries did not arise from an insured incident.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51347(U))The insurer's low-impact study and supporting affidavit raised a triable issue whether the claimed injuries arose from the accident.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51261(U))The providers failed to establish a prima facie case because their billing manager's affidavit did not establish admissible business records.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52383(U))The insurer's founded belief of a staged accident defeated the provider's motion but did not establish entitlement to dismissal.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GMAC Ins. (2005 NYSlipOp 51079(U))The insurer's claims representative supplied facts supporting a founded belief that the alleged injuries did not arise from an insured incident.